Upcoming Holiday

Posted: September 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

So next week is the 2nd biggest Korean holiday of the year, the first being the Chinese New Year, Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving).  It’s 3 days total and in those 3 days everything is closed, from banks to restaurants and stores and schools, which is great because we have 3 days off from work.

Koreans everywhere gather together, usually at the their eldest relatives house or ancestral home, and eat many traditional Korean fixin’s.  It can be compared to American Thanksgiving but there is a turkey anywhere near their tables.  Unfortunately for me and my fellow American teachers this holiday is not one we are jumping for joy to celebrate, however having the 3 days off is something to celebrate.  Transportation during this holiday is extremely busy since every Korean is heading home, so traveling for us outside the city of Ulsan might be stressful.  We have a few ideas of where we want to go but if everything is closed in our city its probably closed in every other city.

I’ll keep you updated on our final travel decision, but I know at least I’ll be able to catch up on my sleep.


A traditional Korean table setup.  I love the huge watermelon.

Leave a comment