Street Food

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Culture, Food & Drink

So last night was my first foray in the many options of street vendor food here in Ulsan.  These small shops are literally right on the sidewalk and have only a few pots and bowls filled with piping hot food.  However this food you probably won’t find in an American grocery store, these foods are more of a local delicacy.  I myself have a pretty solid stomach and knew beforehand that I was going to have to change my diet when I arrived in Korea and was completely opened to that.  I do like most nationalities of food, except Indian, something about that curry does not sit well with me, so it is going to take a lot to scare me away.

So far I only know 3 words in Korean; Hello, goodbye, and beer, so when ordering from these vendors you mostly just point to the picture that looks most appetizing and fain interest in that food.  On my plate for the evening was some blood sausage, cow liver and intestine, all with a side of bean paste for dipping.  I know this sounds disgusting but it turned out very good, and not to mention but all of this food is extremely cheap.  For like a pound of food, pretty much an amount you could make 3 meals out of, it’s like $2.50.  Everything is so much cheaper here overall so it really shouldn’t be too hard to save money.

So far school this week is going well.  Just being a sponge and absorbing every piece of information I get.  It’s a lot of information thrown at you real quick, which doesn’t sound too different from any other full-time job, but I am game to commit.  I will write plenty of more at the end of my first week.

My sleep patterns I think have now caught up and finally woke up at a normal time today, which means 7am rather than 4am.

Leave a comment